Do you know your love language? (and why it’s important)

The Angry Therapist
4 min readNov 14, 2017

Okay I’m not going to front. I didn’t pay much attention to love languages until recently. Yes, I know. I’m a relationship coach. I should know this shit. But I just thought it was another hokey concept created to sell books. But recently, my friend and business partner, Noelle, who always checks me on my shit and gets me to take my medicine, demanded I explore it. Assigned me homework like do with my clients and said it would help me with my dating journey. So I took a deep dive.

First, what are love languages? In a nutshell, they are the ways we show love and interpret love back. It’s the language we speak when expressing love. Because the action of loving is different for everyone. There is room for misinterpretations and people can mistake that for lack of connection or I don’t love you back.

Here are the five love languages.

Simplified of course.

1. Words of affirmation.

Showing love through language and affirmation. This doesn’t just mean compliments. I Love yous. I’m thinking about you. Hope you’re having an amazing day!!! Can’t wait to see you later. And if this is your language, hurtful words and character assignation cuts deeper than people who don’t speak this language.

--

--

The Angry Therapist

Author of “I Used To Be A Miserable F*CK” and “Single. on Purpose.” IG: theangrytherapist